Viva La Fútbol

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Beach Soccer_bw_062014_1424

Unless you’ve been under a rock, you’re probably aware that the FIFA World Cup starts today in Brazil.

I know millions of people all around the world are super excited about this event. It’s certainly bigger than the Super Bowl here in the U.S. Even bigger than the Olympics from what I understand.

I’m probably one of the few that will be… meh.

Don’t get me wrong. I can appreciate what a global sport soccer (fútbol) is. I just never really got into it.

While my high school had it back in the mid-80s, I never really gave it much thought. I ran cross country, played football, couldn’t wait for basketball season, loved baseball. Maybe I just couldn’t fit it into my athletic endeavors.

And, if I didn’t play it, I have hard time really getting into it. Same goes for golf. And hockey (though I follow that on a loose basis.) By participating in it, I just felt closer to it.

I’m probably the last of the generation that isn’t “all in” into soccer. Kids all over the world, including the U.S., are playing the sport now. And have been for years. Just not me.

Including the kids in the above photo. I shot this back in February, on the beach at Camps Bay, South Africa. While Bruno Barby was shooting the other talent we had on the shoot, I was trying to keep these kids engaged and occupied (they were the talent in other scenes.) So, I tossed them a soccer ball.

And occupied they stayed. For a good 25 minutes, they kicked, slid, squealed, laughed. Just kids and a ball.

This image turned out to be one of my favorites of the day.

The fútbol turned up a couple of days later, in another location. Again, with kids.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Soccer ball_bw_022014_1910

So, if you’ve been waiting for the World Cup – the time is nigh.

Enjoy the tournament! Viva la fútbol

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

2 thoughts on “Viva La Fútbol

  1. Love the images, but I too couldn’t care less about the World Cup. Soccer is much more fun to plan than to watch. Those “thrilling” nil-nil ties are anything but. I imagine that’s how people outside the U.S. feel about watching baseball for the first time – bored to tears.

    Personally, I’m ready for both the NBA and World Cup to be off of ESPN so that we can go back to watching real sports!

Leave a Reply

