Weekend Shot: On The Wicket

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Cricket3_bw_062014_3570

I have a fascination with cricket, even though I know virtually nothing about the sport. For some reason, it entices me.

And I’ve always wanted to photograph people playing cricket. In a town I once lived in, men would gather on Saturday morning to play. It wasn’t a formal league, but guys who like to play.

On Saturday, after Day 1 of the TriRock Triathlon in Philadelphia that I shot (I’m deep in the weeds editing images now but that’s another story), I was heading back to the hotel. On a pitch filled with higher grass and clover, men were playing cricket. Uniforms and everything.

In my bag next to me was the Canon 7D and 70-200mm lens that I rented to shoot the TriRock. Having this gear with me, I couldn’t not stop, even though I was bone tired from waking up at 3 a.m.

So I pulled over and walked up to the perimeter of the pitch. Of course, having a lens that size initiates some conversation. Between the bowler delivering a ball, I asked one of the guys playing if I could take photos. I have him my card too. He said sure. Of course, I told him to email me if he would like the photos.

It was odd shooting something I knew nothing about. I didn’t know where to focus my attention or lens.

I only stayed about 10 minutes, and liked this image. Perhaps something to try more in the future.

And, no, the wicket wasn’t sticky.

Canon 7D + 70-200mm lens + cricket batsman = This Weekend Shot

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

Leave a Reply

