By Any Stretch

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Greg LoBiondo_062014_7623

This past winter, fitness instructor and yoga teacher, Greg LoBiondo, and I talked about doing some images of him for his business. These images would be used for advertising purposes, either on business cards, on his website or in other marketing areas.

I was looking forward to shooting Greg, but wanted to wait until the weather was nice and we could shoot outside and I could use some beautiful late-day (golden hour) light. We got the opportunity last week.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_GL_clr_062014_7877

We met at a Johnson Park in News Brunswick. When I worked in that city, I’d go for runs through Johnson Park on my lunch breaks, and always thought it would be a cool place to shoot. Then, when Greg and I talked, I thought this would be the perfect spot, even allowing me to take advantage of the picnic tables.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Greg LoBiondo_clr_062014_MG_7750

While I did use natural light much of the time, I did use my Canon 430EX Speedlight, set to Manual at about 1/8th or 1/4th to give me a bit of fill at times.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Greg LoBiondo_clr_062014_7905

I put Greg through his paces pretty well. It was a warm evening after a 92 degree day. Sweat was dripping from his face – his yoga moves are pretty intense! Good thing he brought a change of shirts.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_GL_bw_062014_7737(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Greg LoBiondo_clr_MG_7890

In addition to the “action” shots, I also did some nice head shots for Greg. Never know when you’ll need a nice head shot.
(c)JerseyStyle Photography_LoBiondo_Dyptch_062014

And, in addition to the action and head shots, I had to shoot some detail shots as well. Entire-to-detail, always.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Greg LoBiondo_bw_062014_MG_7839

Especially this detail…

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_LoBiondo_bw_062014_7693

It was a great shoot with Greg, and he was very happy with the images we created. I hope he gets good use out of them and they help with his business.

Next step is for me to take one of his yoga classes…

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

Leave a Reply

