Tri’ing It Out

TriRock Banner

Back at the end of July, I headed down to Philadelphia. For my company, one of the sponsors of the TriRock Series Triathlon, I was asked to shoot the weekend event.

I was happy to do this since Adrenaline Events are those types of photos I want to add to my portfolio. This would give me a good opportunity to cover a great event, and see what I could see.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Swimmers_062014_3107

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_Michael Phinney2_bw_06214_3689

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_AG water2_06212014_8159

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_3128_062114_3380

In addition to the typical action shots, I also tried to get some unique people portraits as well.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_Clayton Paterson_bw_062014_3199

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Beard2_3190

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_David Silver_062014_8529

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_Sarah McClarty_50_0622148607

And, as with all that I shoot, I try to go entire-to-detail. So, I wanted some unique detail shots of the the event too.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_Medals_062014_3745

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Two feet_062014_3747

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Fuji AeroV1_bw_3833

(c)JerseyStyle Photograpy_Bike Bag_062014_8725

Finally, there was THE SHOT I HAD TO GET: The Sea Of Red shot (since J&J had 500 competitors in the Saturday event.)

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_TriRockT_SeaofHands_06212014_8077

Got it.

For this event, my gear included my Canon 50D with my 24-105mm Canon Lens. I also rented a Canon 7D with a 70-200mm f2.8 Canon lens. (As usual, I rented my gear from BorrowLenses.com.) Good prices, good customer service. I also took one or two shots with my little Canon S110. Ever since it blew off a table when I was in South Africa last February, though, it hasn’t been performing right. Focus off, so I’m lucky if I ever get anything with it. Believe the swimming shot showing the depth marker above came from the 110, though.

I enjoy shooting these events, despite the early call times and activity all day. I was up at 4:30 a.m Saturday and Sunday, at the course by 5:30. And while I was done shooting by 1 pm generally, I had all the post-processing to do. Saturday afternoon, I actually dozed off back in the hotel while downloading my one of my cards.

All in all, it was a great shoot and I had a fun time, to boot. Hope to schedule more of these in the future.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

4 thoughts on “Tri’ing It Out

  1. Pingback: New Tearsheet: 2015 TriRock Triathlon Mailer | JerseyStyle Photography

  2. Pingback: TriRocked In Philly | JerseyStyle Photography

  3. Pingback: Weekend Plans | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

