Weekend Shot: Harnessed Energy

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Palominos2_072014_0689

I live in a beautiful part of New Jersey. Dead smack in the middle of the state, we’re surrounded by cornfields, sod farms and horse farms.

The horses here are raised for harness racing, with the Peretti Farms being one of the largest in the area.

During our blackout during Hurricane Sandy, I happened to be in a restaurant in town (they weren’t our grid so had power.) Had an interesting conversation with a gal that worked at one of the other horse farms. She talked about how it’s a 24 hour, 7 day a week job – horses, obviously, are living things, need to be fed, watered and cared for. You don’t just take off for a week and go on vacation. I’ve had similar conversation with local vegetable farmers – their jobs aren’t like mine. It’s all day, every day.

Anyway, coming back from grocery shopping about 5 p.m. on Sunday, I did a large loop to pass this horse farm. I’m not sure I ever saw so many horses out at the same time up on the hill. I liked how they were silhouetted. This shot came out how I had it in my head.

Beautiful landscape + beautiful animals + late day light = This Weekend Shot.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

Leave a Reply

