Still Getting Personal

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Kibblehouse_bw_WOTH_072014_9810

Hopefully, you’re getting some work done on your personal projects this summer. Well, hopefully you’re getting a lot of paying work, too, but it’s the personal stuff that keeps you going, keeps you motivated.

Most of all, it keeps you seeing what you can see.

A few weeks ago, on the trip to visit my parents, I had the chance to continue on with my Working On The The Highway personal project. Sometimes I never know if I’m going to get anything; sometime I see it happen right next to me.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Hook_bw_WOTHW_072014_9866

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_green bars_bw_WOTH_072014_9845

I like these for what they represent: Men and women getting it done in the high heat of the summer. They’re building, or fixing, the highways and byways that keeps people and freight moving. Can’t be easy working next to cars and trucks speeding by, probably over the posted speed limit. (I try to say within the construction zone speed limits, the guy behind me blinking his lights and tooting his horn because he wants me to speed up be damned. I don’t need to give these construction folks anything else to worry about.)

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Tri-Max_bw_WOTHW_072014_9803

Speaking of personal projects, here’s a couple of good ones that I keep track of: Ray Ketcham’s Boiler Room Project and Sabrina Henry’s Village Life Updates. And, tucked away in this Forbes interview, Chase Jarvis talks about how personal projects help him.

Finally, a really good video here by artists/designer/writer James Victore about the value of personal projects.

So get out there and make it personal! Drop a link in the comments and show me what you’re working on.

For you.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

Leave a Reply

