Tearsheet: Financial Times

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Finanical TimesJanssen Ad_121114_0086

Had a nice surprise yesterday. A colleague of mine stopped by my office yesterday to show me a new ad we had placed in the Financial Times. My company has been placing these in the FT’s healthcare inserts quarterly this year, and yesterday was the fourth (and last I think.)

I’m a big FT fan. In fact, probably an hour before my colleague stopped by, I had jumped out of my truck at the end of my long driveway to pick up MY copy of the FT sitting there. It’s the only physical newspaper I usually read. I’m not into banking or stocks, but the FT provides more than that, a good global view on business. I like the writers and columnists and have held a subscription for a good many years. I especially like the weekend edition, and often look to see who shoots their executive portraits for stories or features.

However, I don’t normally read it until the evening, after the kids have gone to bed. I know, reading old news basically. Glad she stopped by to give me the head’s up that for this installment of the Janssen ad, they used a shot I took in South Africa earlier this year.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Kids Jump_022014_1453

We were four days into our shoot there with Bruno Barbey, on the beach in Camps Bay. The kids were part of the “talent” we had hired to get the lifestyle photos we were looking for.

While Bruno was off shooting other talent (in fact, that’s him, and them, in the background of my photo), I thought I’d keep the kids occupied and do some shooting of my own.

I had tossed a soccer ball out to them, and got some nice shot of them kicking it around. Then saw this cement…um, I don’t know what it was…thing sticking out of the sand. Thought some jumping shots would be fun. To me, this was just like shooting my own kids. I remember shooting Liv one time jumping off a sand dune in Ocean City, NJ, and thought a similar shot would work here.

Luckily, when we got back to the U.S., and I showed some of my images to my colleagues that run our brand center, they liked a number of my photos as well. So, I gladly put them into our corporate image gallery for usage.

Throughout the year, I’ve seen my images used a number of ways. This tear sheet, in one of my favorite newspapers, is one of my favorites.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

One thought on “Tearsheet: Financial Times

Leave a Reply

