Composing and Decomposing

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Turkey Vulture_032015_0882

Here in New Jersey, March came in like a lion.

A big, fat snowflaked, downshifting into a pinging icy mess lion.

The big fat flakes started coming down around 10 a.m. a swirling confusion of wind and air and water.

Liv had a play date, and since I had to run out to get ingredients for chicken soup, we jumped in the truck and hit the backroads of Allentown and Cream Ridge.

Passing one of the many horse farms in this area on way to Liv’s little friend’s house, I saw two turkey buzzards enjoying some frosty roadkill. Something clicked in my mind’s eye and I thought it would make an interesting, wintry shot.

A few minutes later, after making the drop, I rolled back up to the scene, armed with only my trusty Canon S110.

One of the C. a. septentrionalis’ had made it’s exit, leaving just the friend to much on the once-lovely deer.

A my truck approached, the bird took flight, it’s wide wingspan evident in close quarters. We often see these birds up in the thermal drafts, floating, floating. Here, the jump from the ground to the fence was more like a screech. I kind of wanted a natural portrait with her over the kill, but then the way she perched on the fence gave me a good composition. A good silhouette, too, of that hook-like beak.

By this time, the flakes turned to pings as the sleet had started. This stayed with me for the rest of the errand run. But even on that quick run, I gathered in a couple of more interesting shots.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_taxi_020215_0908

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_graveyard2_032015_0897

Liv had fun at her friend’s, I made some photos and the soup came out good, too.

Not a bad Sunday in New Jersey.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2015

2 thoughts on “Composing and Decomposing

Leave a Reply

