JSP Visual Week In Review | 03.14.15

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_WIR_031415

This was a week unlike all others.

And I’m not even talking about what Chip Kelly did this week.

Well, yes I am, a little. I mean, all of his crazy machinations contributed to the surrealness of this week.

I started Monday in New Jersey. By 10 p.m. Monday night, my head was hitting the pillow in Northeast Pennsylvania.

My Dad was taken to the hospital with a swollen throat, and I saw him lying in bed, sedated and on ventilation, for three days.

When he was up on Friday morning, he was talking gibberish, like some daytime dream he was in, but which we were clueless of the plot or characters.

Thankfully, by Friday evening, he was back to his coherent self. Throat was a little sore, but at least he was smiling and giving us the thumbs up.

There were other things along the way…but man, whatta week.

Not only for me, though. My wife – bless her heart – held the NJ fort down this week, and it was no easy task. Matty Logan, at 3 1/2, is giving her an especially hard run for her money.

How do I repay her? By signing us up for 8-10 miles of brutality this September.

Love you, honey! Hey, Team JerseyStyle will be rockin’ the course. Aarro.

After coming home of the hospital, I did get to know my old hometown a little better again. Got some night shooting in, met some good people.

The one shot I missed: While at the hospital, I saw an Greek Orthodox priest with the beard, long cassock, cross…and Doc Martens books. REALLY wanted to shoot a quick portrait of him, but alas it didn’t happen.

You only miss the shots you don’t take.

Keep shooting.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* What I watched this week: NEBRASKA. Loved it.

* Since it’s Pi Day….From the archives.

* Eric Larson chooses THE MALTESE FALCON.

* Jimmy Page on how he created STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN

* Joe just hanging out in Dubai.

* The Way You Wear Your Hat.

* Speaking of cool, Don Draper would like to see you in his office.

* Bob Dylan does noir. And I don’t dig it.

* I never went to Tower Records in LA, only South Street in Philly. Great read.

* WeeGee’s guide to New York.

* Whaddya want from me?

* Good read from Paul Bishop on film noir.

* Happy birthday today to Diane Arbus (March 14, 1923 – July 26, 1971) and Chris Hondros (March 14, 1970 – April 20, 2011)

* “In photography everything can be taught, except how to see.” ~ David Hume Kennerly

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2015

One thought on “JSP Visual Week In Review | 03.14.15

Leave a Reply

