Sláinte!

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Flo_Blarney Castle Bench_2008_IMG_4443

Ah, old St. Patty’s Day! (or Paddy’s, if you prefer.)

I’ve been to the Emerald Island a couple of times.

The first time when me and my travel buddy Flo, took off from Newark airport just past an evening painted with colored skies.

We were headed for County Cork on an annual report photoshoot. I was traveling with Stephen, the MY-based art director, and we were to meet up with the U.K.-based photographer Elizabeth. Anne would be the local photographer’s assistant.

Stephen and I would go on to travel the world together – India, Russian, China (twice), Tokyo, Nicaragua, Paris – but this was the start of it all. Luckily for me, he was up, even then for some early high jinks.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Stephen Doyle_Framed 2008

It was late Fall and County Cork was a blaze with color. The rolling hills were still very green, though wet, and the trees were doing there things as well.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Idyllic_vintagecropped_2008_IMG_4511

In addition to providing the “corporate” voice on this, vocalizing some of the themes we needed the AR to carry though, I also, of course, did the BTS shooting. Ibrahim was our main subject over the few days there. An engineer by trade, he lives in Pennsylvania, actually, but was overseeing some sustainability projects there in Cork. Big-time rugby player and Coora Light drinker. Disdained Guinness, which is a Dublin product, so I didn’t drink it myself while there. Myself, I became more partial to Beamish.

BTS_Cork_2008_3946

it was an enjoyable trip. Got some good shooting, and some good food as well. I was just starting out on my 100 Strangers project, and was able to get Number 20 in a local pub. Godawful lighting, and I didn’t do Nicky justice, but some times it just is.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Nicky2_20x100_mk111408_IMG_4271

On the free day I had, Flo and I had to explore the Blarney Castle and kiss the stone, of course. Beautiful views of the countryside from up the top of the castle.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Blarney Overview_2008_IMG_4421

Had to some other sightseeing as well….

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Jameson distillary_2008_IMG_4632

December 2010 saw me back in The Emerald Isle, back in The Rebel County, back with Stephen  and Elizabeth.

This time, though, the brilliant Fall leaves were swapped out for ice hanging from the trees, the rocks, even the Mercedes Benz emblem on the front of the car that picked us up at the airport. It was soon after that that my 17-85 lens bonked and I was camera-less for a short duration.

More to come.

Sláinte!

<i>© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2015</i>

Leave a Reply

