Flat. Ironed.

CoverStory-Flatiron-Icebreaker-Birgit-Schossow1-690-949-02114659

The other week, the New Yorker had an apropos cover: German artist Birgit Schössow had Daniel Burnham’s Flatiron Building making it’s way up a frozen tundra. That’s the way New York – and the East Coast – has been the past couple of months of this winter. (Birgit also did another favorite New Yorker cover of mine….)

It’s an effective artist rendering, actually. For some reason, for as much as I’ve seen, been in the shadow of, and walked past the Flatiron Building, I’d never really seen Burham’s Folly in this light. I usually see it as unique, very cool, a must-have photograph if you’re in lower Manhattan….but never an ice-breaking ship.

And now that I’ve seen it like this on that cover, I can’t NOT see it like that.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Flatiron Walker

Until the somewhat recent times, I spent a lot of time down in Lower Manhattan, at 25th & Broadway specifically, working with Doyle Partners on various design projects. Their offices are a not-so-long stone’s throw from the building, and I enjoyed getting out of MY office and going to theirs. The Flatiron Building is a New York touchpoint. Then I read Erik Larson’s Devil In The White City, in which Burnham has a dominate role, and liked him, and it, even more.

Devil In the White City is set during the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893. So I had to give the Flatiron a vintage feel once.(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Ancient Flatiron

But perhaps my favorite shot is one I don’t know if I can ever get again, even if I tried. Well, maybe I could if I had a grand production budget, but I digress. The image is very unique I think (though I did do some post processing to make it even more unique.) I caught it once summer afternoon after coming out of 25th & Broadway and going for a walk. I got lucky with all the yellow taxis lined up like this, and had it in my mind’s eye to do the selective color on it.

It’s one of my favorite shots, and one I hope to get a large print of someday.

Flatiron Cabs

No folly for me.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

One thought on “Flat. Ironed.

Leave a Reply

