Calvin

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Calvin_051615

Harkening back to my 100 Strangers project….

This is Calvin. On Saturday afternoon, I was heading into one of those big-box hardware stores. Calvin was coming out with another man. As we passed, my mind started working, started volleying “the ask” back and forth.

I got about 10 steps past him, turned around, ran back to him. I introduced myself to him and the other man, who was his son. I asked him if he knew it was Armed Forces Day and both said they didn’t. I said to him I noticed his cap, and thought maybe that’s why he had it on.

I asked Calvin where he served, and he told me two tours in WWII: One in the Philippines, one in Japan (Tokyo). I asked him if I could do a quick portrait of him on this day, and he kindly agreedI shook his hand (his was strong) thanked him for his service.

The background is messy, and I only had my smartphone on me. (The best camera is the one you have on you and all that)

But I’m glad I turned around and met him. And took his portrait.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

2 thoughts on “Calvin

Leave a Reply

