Putting The Biscuit In The Basket For Research

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_No Floor Hockey2_041715_3071

The NHL Hockey Stanley Cup Finals are in full swing, and many a-player on the Chicago Blackhawks or Tampa Bay Lightening are dreaming of heading to the barn, snapping off a wrister and lighting the lamp (or putting the biscuit in the basket).

I know, right? It’s pushing 90 degrees and yet the hockey season is still going on. It does seem like it goes on forever, but hey, if you’re a fan, that’s the best thing.

I’m a sort-of fan. I’ve been to a few games (as bad as the NFL is in person, hockey is great.) I watch some games, but still don’t really understand it, to the chagrin of my Canadian brother-in-law and nephew. But I respect the sport and feel the players are some of the best physically-conditioned athletes out there.

Back in April, I got an up-close look at hockey. I shot an ventt that I never had before – a hockey tournament that my company runs to raise money and awareness about concussions, and how to play this hard-hitting sport safely.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Simon Hinke_mkrajnak_041815_0388

The 32nd Annual Johnson & Johnson International Hockey Tournament event kicked off April 18 in Philadelphia and raised funds for the American/Canadian Spinal Research Organizations and StopConcussions Foundation. This year’s event includes 26 J&J-based teams and 370 players from Canada, Russia, Switzerland and the U.S. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, where I should stand, what I should do…but it was a fun experience and a great education, photographic and otherwise.

As with any event, I shot entire-to-detail, wanting to capture it all.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_MG_mkrajnak_041815_3204

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_EVY_mkrajnak_041815_0555

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_EVY_mkrajnak_041815_0359

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Skate2_mkrajnak_041718_3010

The event culminated with a charity game against former NHL’ers and the teams that raised the most money for the tournament. This is one of those “must get” shots – you gotta get the ceremonial drop of the puck!

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Puck Drop_041815_3334

In all, it was a great weekend. Everyone had a good time for a good cause – the teams raised more than $200,000 for neuroscience research.

My gear for this included my Canon 50D with my 24-105 mm lens. I also rented a Canon 7D body, a Canon 70-200 f2.8 mm, as well as a Canon 15mm f/2.8 fish-eye lens, which I thought would be fun to play around with. all from Borrow Lenses. I also, at times, used my little Canon S110 point-and-shoot now and then.

It was a good learning experience for me. I got some of the shots I wanted, but unfortunately missed some too. Live, learn, get better, right?

Oh, the other shot you have to get when shooting hockey? The Zamboni machine.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Zam Boni_041718__3103

Can’t put the biscuit in the basket without smooth ice, right?

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

Leave a Reply

