Portrait Session With CJ Carpenter

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJ Carpenter_bw_JerseyStyle Photography_062615_7218

A couple of weeks ago, I had the absolute pleasure of heading down to Philadelphia to shoot some new headshots for author CJ Carpenter.

CJ and I got to “know” each other a couple of years ago, through Facebook. She’s friends with Terrence McCauley, whom I shot some headshots for last year. She liked what she saw and asked if I could do some new ones for her. Of course, I said I’d love to.

We were scheduled to do this shoot in April, but life got in the way and I had to reschedule. Kind of glad I did, though, because I think this was better than it would have been in April.

I got down to her part of Philly (kinda Center City/South Philly-ish) in the late afternoon on a Friday so that I could scout. I knew the late-day light would be getting really nice. As I walked around her block, I shot some test shots and found a number of areas and set-ups that we could use. Once I was content, I texted her and said I’d be at the little cafe around the corner waiting for her.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJCarpenter_clr_JerseyStyle Photography_062615_7203

She came by about 10 minutes later, and we sat to chat. Since we’ve only corresponded over Facebook, text and email, I wanted her to be comfortable with me. Actually, it was like we were long-lost friends. We chatted about our lives, and had plenty of laughs. In fact, part of the challenge with the whole shoot was how much CJ laughed. She was having a good time, but wanted some serious shots – that proved to be a bit of a problem.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJ Smiles_062015

Don’t get me wrong – it was great she was having a good time. She’s comfortable in front of the camera we got a lot of good shots.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJ Carpenter_clr_JerseyStyle Photography_062615_7186

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJ Carpenter_bw_JerseyStyle Photography_062615_7224

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJ Carpenter_clr_JerseyStyle Photography_062615_7222

We even involved some of the neighbors to help us have a little fun.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_The Reader_JerseyStyle Photography_062615_7243

In today’s day and social media age, I feel you have to shoot with that in mind. While you never really want to have someone dead-on in your frame (not a hard and fast rule), I still tried to keep some possible advertising in mind for CJ and the book that she has coming out….today!

So, here’s what Twitter ad could look like.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Hidden Vice promo__062615_7240

Or this.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Hidden Vices_Promo2_062615_7218

Of course, we had to get Flo involved too.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Cast2_clr_062615_4836

And the best part about shooting authors? Signed swag.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJ Sig

We shot for about an hour and had a great time. The light was great, CJ had a good time, and I was really happy we were about to get this shoot in in time for her new book release. If you like crime fiction/thrillers, check her out on Amazon or in your local books store.

Check out more of my author headshots here.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

5 thoughts on “Portrait Session With CJ Carpenter

  1. Pingback: Of The 4th of July And People Named Bruce, Frank, Danny, Marie and Matt | JerseyStyle Photography

  2. Pingback: New Tearsheet: The Star-Ledger (NJ) | JerseyStyle Photography

  3. Pingback: Dispatches: N@B Society Hill | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

