Of The 4th of July And People Named Bruce, Frank, Danny, Marie and Matt

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Franks_070415_5627

“Sandy, the fireworks are hailin’ over Little Eden tonight
Forcin’ a light into all those stony faces left stranded on this warm July..”.

A very fine photographer I kinda know, Ryan Struck, posted some sweet 4th of July/Asbury Park photos he shot last weekend.

I, too, was in Asbury Park on the 4th. To me, there’s two really cool places to be on July 4: Philadelphia (’cause, you know, the Declaration of Independence and all…) and Asbury Park. The latter so because of the song.

This year, I got the chance to be in both spots. Since I took my wife and 2/3rds of my kids to the Philly International Airport the morning of the 4th, me and Matt swung down to Independence Hall early. Super cool.

We came back into NJ, had some lunch, then hit the road for Asbury Park.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Galaxie 500_070415_5626

On our way to Frank’s Deli (the lead here), we swung through Ocean Grove and caught a cool ride at the Windmill.

Frank’s was packed, and maybe it was due to the recent Anthony Bourdain piece. Or maybe it was because it’s just a damn tasty joint. It was a 20 minute wait for a hot meatball sub, so we downshifted to the 5 minute wait for the cold turkey hoagie. Salt, pepper, oil, vinegar, no onions, so worries. It was worth it. I thought I’d have half, and bring the other half home. Nope. Matt demolished that other half. “This is GOOD!” he said.

We hit Cookman Ave, juiced the meter for a couple of hours, grabbed our shovels and buckets and hit the beach. The sun out (for now) and we were looking forward to a good time. First stop, though, was the Danny Clinch pop-up store in Convention Hall. I had a print with me that I was hoping, if Danny was there, he’d sign. No love, though. He wasn’t around.

Danny Clinch Pop Up_070415_5640

Still, Asbury Park, one of my absolute favorite NJ communities, was bustling on this holiday. Super glad to see all the people out and out about.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Madam Maria2_070415_5645

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Convention Hall_070415_5635

(c) JerseyStyle Photograph_Matt_079415_5674

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_parasol_070415_5649

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_AP feet_070415_5683

Unfortunately, the clouds rolled into to AP just the time I ordered Matt his strawberry ice cream. We hustled to the car as some big drops began to splatter. Still…..got to shoot Bruce in AP…

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Bruce_0704155689

From the looks of Ryan’s photos, it cleared, and the fireworks went off over Little Eden. By that time, though, we were home, watching baseball.


Sandy, the aurora is rising behind us
This pier lights our carnival life forever
Oh, love me tonight and I promise I’ll love you forever
Oh, I mean it, Sandy, girl…

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

Leave a Reply

