JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 08 | 08 | 15

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Visual Week In Review_080815

I received an email this weekend that started like this:

I wanted to thank you for your inspiring words this year with regards to photography. I forced myself to learn quite a bit and even took a local little class here at our library. I can proudly say that I actually sold two of my photos this weekend at our local art show! Totally not trying to brag, but knew you would understand the excitement. 🙂

I knew the writer, met her a couple of times at the Sons of Ireland Polar Bear Plunge. Even did a portrait of her and her family a couple of years ago. I remember chatting with her last January about her painting, my photography, her photography. Frankly, I don’t remember what my words were that inspired her. But I’m thrilled they did, and that she found the time to actually send a long a word of thanks.

Wonder how many times that happens in this life – where something we say changes someone, or spurs them to an action, hopefully for the good. I guess we’ll never know. Kinda the It’s A Wonderful Life thing.

Photographically, I had a great week. Shot the fun Jazz On The Delaware last Saturday, and received positive reaction to my portraits. Also got some fine feedback on the TriRock Triathlon photos I shot last month. And, yesterday, I announced my partnership with Altus Press.

But this email was maybe the best thing. She and her family are moving to California on Monday. New Jersey is losing a great, kind Jersey girl.

Godspeed!

______________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* What I watched this week. Partly because it was Robert Mitchum’s birthday on Thursday. His character in Out Of The Past is a strong inspiration for my Jersey Noir images.

* What I read this week. I’m not a Yankees fan but I’m tempted to go out and buy a #15 jersey. The writing, though, is just superb.

* Talk about being early.

* I’m a geek when it comes to good 404 pages.

* “You need minimum color for maximum effect.” – Jay Maisel

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

Leave a Reply

