Street Walkin’

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Seated On Broadway_092015

Spent some time in New York City last week. I was at a conference for a few days, just off Broadway.

No, I mean JUST off Broadway. The lights of the the street could be seen in my room. Good thing they had those big, thick, light-cancelling curtains up. I wish Mindy Kahling well and all, but I was tired of seeing her ad after three days.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Titan_092015

Anyway, while in The Big Apple, I had the chance to do some of my favorite shooting – street photography. It’s a strange beast, street photography. You’re looking for interesting light and patterns. You’re looking for interesting faces or situations.

Yes, you’re looking for HCB’s decisive moment to be sure.

You’re also looking to just document and stop time. What you’re seeing, shooting, won’t happen again. It’s your moment, and it won’t be redo.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Winner_092015

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Softee Express_092015

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_The shoes_092015

I got a few I liked. My favorite is probably the workman in the hard hat above. I like the face, the dangle of the cigarette, even the edge of the handbag in the frame. Totally shooting from the hip there, so I got a little lucky.

Kept most everything in B&W…except this one.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Intense Frivolous_092015

I like this one for the colors. And for the juxtaposition between the laughing tourist and the solemn ad. I don’t like how the bar cut through the upper part of the frame.

There was one interesting aspect to this time doing street photography in New York. My 50D felt like a hand cannon out there. Felt like it was big and obtrusive (also my 24-105 was giving me lens creep, which was annoying at times.)

Anyway, I felt exposed. I may have to do something about this…

(ominous foreshadowing..em>

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

3 thoughts on “Street Walkin’

Leave a Reply

