Back To Batsto

Hammonton Blueberries

It was time. The weather was still warm but we had flipped to November. It was a time for me and the kids to take a Sunday roadtrip.

It was time for Batsto.

I think we made a visit last year. And the year before that. Though the last time I really remember was just before Hurricane Sandy it.

I remember when Liv and I came down, and it was hot as blazes. And I remember the visit, as I said, just before Sandy. We’re good for at least one visit a year.

Now, with three kids in tow, a new camera, and a beautiful Sunday to kill…it was time to go again.

First up, after a ways down Route 206, a stop for nourishment. This time, White Dotte Diner and Dairy Bar.

Circa 1952. Not much has changed. Even prices are pretty reasonable, still.

White Dotte Diner

We continued on, sun in your faces. “Are we there yet?” was what I kept hearing.

“Almost!” is what I kept replying. It was taking longer than I had remembered.

Finally we hit the Pine Barrens, and I knew we were close.

The historic village was busy. A warm Sunday in early November, of course. Mucho photoshoots going on. ‘Togs walking around with big DSLR’s and bigger lenses. Me with my little Fuji X100T. They snubbed me. I smirked.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Grounds_DSCF8352

That said, me and the X100T..we wuz still dancing. Still learning each other, but getting there. I do love the way it feels in my hand. I just don’t always know what I’m getting yet.

It’s me, not you.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Batsto girl_110915_DSCF8381

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Brain Fruit_110915_DSCF8382

Maybe my favorite shot of day… Simple. Like the lines.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Window light_110815_DSCF8385

This one comes pretty close though…hey, sometimes the photographer get’s shot.

This time, by 8 year old Olivia Krajnak. Not to shabby, save for the mug in the frame.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Me_110815_DSCF8321

All in all, a great day.

Me and the X100T…we’re committed.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

Leave a Reply

