Event: Brian Fallon At Crossroads

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_BF_clr_120215_DSCF9329.jpg

A few months ago, I scored two tickets to a “secret” Brian Fallon show at Crossroads, in Garwood NJ. Brian is the lead singer of The Gaslight Anthem (as well as Horrible Crowes and Molly & The Zombies). He’s a Jersey boy who cut his punk-root teeth playing clubs in New Brunswick.

Brian has a very distinctive voice, and many in the media have declared him the heir apparent to Bruce Springsteen. In fact, I first found him, a few years ago, on YouTube doing a version of Springsteen’s Backstreets. But he and his bands have risen on their own merits. He’s one of the best songwriters out there today (in my opinion) and he’s in constant rotation on my song players.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Crossroads

So, on a chilly, foggy Wednesday night, I shoved the little Fuji X100T into my pocket and met up with my chief concert-going date, David Spira (a.k.a The Geek Whisper). I wanted to see what the camera could do in this type of situation.

(c)JeseyStyle Photography_Brian Fallon_Crossroads_120215_DSCF9474.jpg

For most of the night, I shot in Black & White mode. Gotta say, I really love the B&W jpeg files that come out of this camera. Hardly have to touch them except to crop them.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Brian Fallon_Crossroads_120215_DSCF9475

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Brian Fallon_Ian Perkins_Crossroads_120215_DSCF9346

I also wanted to check out the video mode. Remarkable, even hand-holding. Here’s a short clip of Brian doing Long May You Run by Neal Young.

Click here to watch Behold The Hurricane.

All in all, really impressed. Great night of music, and I got some keepers.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Fallon1_frames_DSCF9494

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2015

 

One thought on “Event: Brian Fallon At Crossroads

  1. Your comments about the Fuji echo what I have heard Bill Fortney say. It is a nice tool that you are mastering.

    I like what you did with the three images across the bottom are interesting. It works well.

Leave a Reply

