Latest: Winterscape Gallery Series

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Feeder2_framed_013016_DSCF0912

After going pretty quite, since we haven’t had much of a winter around here lately, I made another image last weekend to add to my Winterscape Gallery Series.

A pretty simple one – a bird feeder/hotel in the middle of a frozen lake, some nice sky. Actually, I’ve been trying to get a decent photo of this bird feeder for awhile. Keep trying to when the leaves on the trees behind it were aflame during the fall, but it never really worked out.

When I posted my last Winterscape, reader David asked Do you have any thoughts to share with us on how you visualized the image and created it?

That’s a great question. And I don’t know that I have a great answer. When I was first getting started in photography, I had no idea how to visualize an image, and then create it. I was just snapping. But what helped me was doing a “365” Project – take at least one photo a day for 365 days. That project, more than anything, helped me become better, I think. I stopped just snapping pics and actually “seeing” them before I shot.

Now it’s a big reason why I always have a camera on the seat next to me, even if I’m just running to the story for milk. It bothers me now if I “see” an image…and can’t shoot it. Doesn’t mean they are all great when I see them on my computer (my developing room), but I at least have to shoot it.

For this one, as I said, I had wanted to get a good shot of this bird feeder for a while. Driving my daughter to karate the day after some snow gave me the chance. I like the snow on the lake, the starkness of the trees behind it, the sky with clouds.

I then open my photos in Camera Raw, and then Google Nik filters. I like the HDR filter to give the skies some nice contrast. I don’t go crazy with the HDR, just try to use it almost make some of the colors pop.

I think visualizing images takes practice. Sometimes it’s even good to “take pictures” without a camera – snap them in your mind. But then it all comes back down to getting out and shooting.

Thanks for the question, David. Hope this helps a little!

That said, no Winterscapes for  awhile. Headed out on a mid-winter vacation to Mexico this week. Take my Canon S110 and my Fuji X100T, both with big CF cards. Not even taking a computer, so it’ll be like I’m shooting film – I’ll have to wait to see what I get when I get back!

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

2 thoughts on “Latest: Winterscape Gallery Series

  1. Thanks for the “365” project tip. I think it helps with understanding how you saw the previous image. I’m amazed how photographers see the abstract images.

Leave a Reply

