Dispatches: Down Mexico Way

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_022016_IMG_0562

It’s been a long time since I’ve been on a vacation with the whole family. Something more than just an overnight stay is what I mean. Last summer, my wife took Chase and Olivia to Alberta to visit my sister and her kids. We weren’t convinced that Matt, 3 at the time, could handle all the travel without frequent meltdowns. So he and I spent the week back here in NJ.

Late summer, they went down to Wildwood, NJ, but I had to stay back and work. I’ve always adhered to the fact that I want to be one of those parents that travels with his kids. It’s a romantic notion, all right. But degree of difficulty goes up with three rather than one, not to mention expenses. And with five people total, it makes booking rooms more of a challenge, believe it or not. Excuses, maybe, but it is what it is.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Mexico_022016_DSCF1061.jpg

But now it was time to try it out. Back in November, Leslie did all the leg (and internet) work and booked us a week at the Marival Resorts in Puerto Vallarta. She was able to garner a good “family” package, that frankly, when all was said and done, was more than we expected (included a personal family lunch on the beach, a photoshoot session with the resort’s photographer, beach/pool toys for the kids).

For me, though, I wanted to just get a mid-winter break away to someplace warm. Hang out with the family, do a little shooting.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Mexico Rig_022016

Either because of the last Polar Bear Plunge, or when I took it out in the blizzard, but my Canon 50D hasn’t been the same since. One issue: As soon as I turn it on, it shoots a frame. Then doesn’t shoot any. I’m debating about sending it to Canon to check it out, or just upgrade. That’s another post. For this trip though, my rig was small and light: A Canon S110, which is a little point-and-shoot that I love, and my newish Canon X100T.

The idea was to shoot some snappies with the Canon, while keeping the Fuji in Monochrome to shoot just B&W. For the most part, I stayed trued to that form.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_022016_DSCF1161

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_headless_022016_DSCF1227

However, I did deviate. The second shot in this post is with the Fuji. As are these:

(c)JerseyStyle Photography022016_DSCF1188

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_022016_DSCF1142

I’ll say it again – the JPG files both B&W and Color -that come out of the Fuji camera are amazing. I travel with the big DSLR pretty well – been around the world with that 50D. But it was nice to have one camera in my carry-one and one in my pocket and still be able capture some nice images.

Best of all, vacation was fantastic. No major problems or headaches, the resort was great, got to spend some good family time. Did we really get to “see” the real Mexico? No, this was a resort vacation through and through. Would I have loved to have to taken the kids out into a non-touristy marketplace and explore it like I’ve done in Shanghai, India and Nicaragua? Sure. But, for this trip, we were content to drink a few Modelo cervezas and eat ice cream.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_022106_IMG_0596

All in all, not a bad mid-winter get-away for the whole family.

And two little cameras.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

3 thoughts on “Dispatches: Down Mexico Way

  1. Great little post Mark. Oh yes, the perils of flying with young kids. I come from a family of pilots and flight attendants. Flew by myself at age 8. Things are different today and have had a tantrum or 2 with my kids when they were younger. It’s always good to vacation with the whole family. It goes by too quickly. Don’t know, do you need a big dslr? That Fuji looks fantastic?

  2. Pingback: The Best Tool For The Job | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

