Dispatches: N@B Society Hill

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Society Hilly Playhouse_031916_DSCF1877

In the last few years, I’ve been acquainted with a phenomenon known as Noir At The Bar.

The brainchild a few years back of Philadelphia-based writer, editor and reviewer Peter Rozovsky, this gathering of crime fiction writers to read from their works has truly become global.

You may remember I was on point, along with Jen Conley, to introduce Noir At The Bar to New Jersey a few years back.

Then we did it again…and again…(though I missed that third one).

This past Saturday, I had the bittersweet pleasure of attending N@B (as they like to abbreviate it) where it had it start – the Society Hill Playhouse in Philadelphia.

noir-at-the-bar-philly-march-2016.jpg

I was there more in a spectator capacity and anything official. Which is a good thing because I a) inadvertently left the battery to one of my cameras still in the charger at home and b) somehow ran out of battery in my Fuji X100T near the end of the evening, making every snap an adventure and, unfortunately, causing me to miss one pic I really was hoping to get for someone.

Not my brightest moments behind the lens.

For a great recap of the evening, please visit Peter’s write up about it (he even includes a pic of me, seemingly in action, though I think I was just holding up the wall.)

Despite my troubles, it was great to see some old friends (Duane Swierczynski, Edward Petite, Jen Conley, Wallace Stroby, Dennis Tafoya, Jon McGoran, Erik Arneson , Joe Samuel Starnes), meet some new writers that I’ve had the pleasure of reading (Dana King), and, at least, be part of this historic occasion in a small way.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CJC_NATBPhilly_0321916_DSCF2011.jpg

Author CJ Carpenter, whom I did a portrait session with last June.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Society Hill NATB Group_031916

Partners In Crime (Fiction)

I also got my swag on….picking a couple of news books, but getting some others signed by said writers. Much thanks to Dana King, especially, for the printed copy of Grind Joint. I read it as an e-book..kind of hard to sign.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Books2_032116_IMG_1001.jpg

Overall, a great evening. A fitting swansong to the joint where it all started.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_031916_Playhouse bill_DSCF1956

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

