Opening Day

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Opening Day 2016.jpg

“People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball. I’ll tell you what I do.

I stare out the window and wait for spring.”

– Rogers Hornsby

I’ve been a bigger baseball fan in the past. When was in late grade school, I had some type of bat (wood, whiffle, aluminum) in my hand every day in the summer. I wore out the area in front of the evergreen tree in our yard, because that was “home plate.”

Now I coach. I coach my middle son’s t-ball team, the Hot Rods. We’ll start up this coming Saturday, in what looks to be a chilly 43 degree day.

But today…today Spring really starts. While some Major League Baseball games started yesterday, my Philadelphia Phillies will start at 4 p.m. this afternoon. When that first pitch is thrown, then Springs, followed closely by Summer of course, will start.

Where I live in New Jersey, I get Philadelphia and New York stations on the radio. I’ll listen the the parts of many Phillies, Yankees and Mets games. On TV, I’ll only rarely see the Phils, but will flip over to the Yankees or Mets, just to see what’s going on.

Maybe I’ll follow the standings closely, like in the old days. Most likely, I won’t. Maybe I’ll take one, or all of the kids to a game, we’ll see.

The Phillies won’t be good this year, but that’s OK, at least for now. Baseball is back. At 4 p.m. today, I’ll turn on the radio to listen to the first pitch. Come September, I’ll be sad at the last pitch.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Opening Day2_2016.jpg

Because that’s what being a fan is all about.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

2 thoughts on “Opening Day

  1. Nothing against the Majors, but I found the minors to be more fun with children. You can sit close enough to hear the umpire’s call. You can get seats where the kids may get a foul ball. For teaching moments, you can watch the players away from the ball getting in position to backup those in the play.

    You’re talked me into seeing if I can be down at the Lookouts for opening day.

    • Good reminder, David. I have two to three minor league clubs around me (Trenton Thunder, Lakewood Blue Claws Lehigh Valley Iron Pigs aways up the turnpike.) I’m sure, once my kids get a mite older to appreciate all that, we’ll head there rather than the Phils.

Leave a Reply

