Tear Sheet: Crime Factory #18

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Crime Factory Edge_040716_IMG_1225

I’m still amazed where this passion of mine takes me sometimes. Hanging this little machine off my shoulder, having some ideas now and again, has really taken me to some neat places.

The mailman dropped off a neat package for me the other day. The latest issue of Crime Factory. CF has been around in various packages – online, e-book, publishing on demand – since 2000 and has hosted the talents of so many writers and editors. The About page on their website tells the whole story.

 

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Crime Factory Cover_040716_IMG_1236

Within that overview, Andrew Nette is mentioned. I had the pleasure of meeting of meeting – and photographing – Andrew when he visited Philadelphia back in 2014. Andrew and I had been “online friends” as I would comment on many of his Pulp Curry entries. We quickly hit it off, drawn together by ’70s crime fiction, literature and Bruce Springsteen. He’s turned me on to a number of cool books and I, in turn, shot some new headshots for him.

We started talking then about me contributing to Crime Factory at some point. It’s has more of a literary bent, though, and he’d have to sell doing something about photography to the other editors.

Apparently that went over well. Last summer or so, he reached out to me to do an essay about how my Jersey Noir images came about. Even though I’m a writer by nature (at least I like to think I can), this was still daunting to me. And when I sent in the first draft to him – I mean, these guys are PROFESSIONAL writers, editors, and scholars – I was pretty nervous.

He was kind though, didn’t mark up that copy too much. I made a few edits, and then sent it back last fall. We were locked and loaded.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CF Line UP_040716_IMG_1227.jpg

Crime Factory isn’t anyone’s full time gig, and with a bunch of things going on, it took a little while for it to drop, all 182 pages of goodness. But last week, Andrew sent me the PDF of the article. I was stoked.

I went on line and ordered the hard copy to have in my collection. Looks even better in real-life print. I love how the team did the opening layout. And to see my name in the Table of Contents of this issue, well, there’s nothing better than than. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the stories and essays as well.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_CF 18 Spread_040716_IMG_1232

In the essay I submitted, I mention how my “Jersey Noir” got started, way back in 2007, as the result of a online photo challenge (Think Iron Chef but with pixels.) I mention some of the films that influence my work, as well as my partnership with Bard Constantine and Stefan Prohaczka on The Troubleshooter series. My involvement in Joe Clifford’s Trouble In The Heartland book, too.

Like I said at the start, it’s amazing where this little machine has taken me and my work. I’m happy these types of images have found a bit of a home and audience. There’s nothing wrong with shooting a niche idea; it may take a bit more hustle and work to get it out there there.

Big thanks to Andrew who first brought this up to me, Cameron Ashley, the editor-in-chief of CF #18, as well as the other editors, along with Andrew, Liam Jose and Jimmy Callaway. Please check out the CF website, follow them on Twitter at @crimefactory and support them anyway you can. They are out there getting it done for the writers and the readers.

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

One thought on “Tear Sheet: Crime Factory #18

Leave a Reply

