National Library Week

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Matt Library_041416_IMG_1403

It’s National Library Week this week.

It’s true. That’s a thing nowadays.

When was the last time you were in a library? With the acceleration of e-books, I often wonder how much libraries get used any more.

When I was a kid, libraries were magical to me. In grade school, we’d go on Friday afternoons, a nice way to head into the weekend.

I’d look for the latest Hardy Boys book, or take out – again – this book on codes and ciphers that I loved (I had forgotten about this book, then  came across an piece about the guy who wrote it in the Wall Street Journal a few years ago…and now can’t remember it again.)

Or, in the summer, my dad would take us to the library on Monday evenings…but only if was raining. Odd, I know. But when we went, my sister and I would get lost in the stacks, eventually coming out  with four or five books apiece.

My kids, like Matt above, like to go to the library too, though sometimes it’s to pick out a movie. The Allentown Public Library in town here was first a church dating back to 1879, then became a library in 1984.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Allentown Library_041416_IMG_1398

(Scale Model. Not the real Allentown Library)

Not very big but still a nice quiet place with some cool old goodies tucked away.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Allentown Messenger_041416_IMG_1396

But, with more people reading e-books, the library is still in fashion…even the Little Free Libraries. Have you seen these? Here’s one I found in Forty Fort, Pennsylvania.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Forty Fort Little Library_123015_IMG_0080

And another one in Asbury Park, New Jersey, late last year…

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Little Free Library_010116_DSCF0593

I think this is a super-cool idea, something I’ve sorta been doing for awhile. When I travel, if I finish a book on the road, I’ll leave it in the nightstand for the next person to find. When I was just in Mexico in February, the resort had a “leave a book, take a book” program. I finished A Lesson In Secrets and picked up The Road. Can’t do that with an e-book on your Kindle!

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Library1_041416_IMG_1399

Go visit your local library this week. No telling what you’ll discover!

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “National Library Week

Leave a Reply

