Grounded

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Stearman2_102014_7509

In case you missed it, check out Joe McNally’s blog post from last week. He had the opportunity to put together a pretty cool photo shoot using a vintage Stearman bi-plane.

While I’ve never had the chance to go up in one of these neat planes, it did remind me of when I got up close-and-personal with one of these beauties.

Prop_102014_MG_7540

Back in the Fall of 2014, I was home visiting my parents in Northeast Pennsylvania. I was passing by the Wyoming Valley Airport, a small, general aviation airport in Forty Forty, PA, the next town over from my parents’ home.

I glimpsed the Stearman from the road and pulled in for a closer look.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Prop_102014_MG_7511

According to Wikipedia, the  Stearman (Boeing) Model 75 is a biplane used as a military trainer aircraft, of which at least 10,626 were built in the United States during the 1930s and 1940s.

Leave it to Joe, and especially Lynn DelMastero, Joe’s long-time studio assistant who, basically, can get anything done, to do a shoot with one of these planes. In his post, he talks about how he’s had this photo in his head for a long time. I’m sure he’s satisfied with how it turned out. I think we’ve all been there: We have an image in our head and, like an itch, it needs to be scratched (in this case shot) or it bothers us.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Plane_102014_MG_7566

At $300 per hour, it was a little steep for me to take a ride, so I didn’t get a chance to go up in this plane. Would have been cool, for sure, to soar over the Wyoming Valley. But at least I got some neat shots of it.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Stearman Screwdriver2_102014_7557

Even the Stearman tools are cool.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Stearman1_102014__MG_7494

Next time, maybe, I’ll fly off into the wild blue yonder in one of these. I doubt I’ll get the type of shots Joe did, but I’m sure it would still be a great experience.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

2 thoughts on “Grounded

  1. Nice images of the Stearman and the tool. Maybe one day you’ll get that ride. It has to be more exciting than flying commercial but the comfort level may not be as good for a long flight.

Leave a Reply

