The Bookmaker

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Mothers Day book_051016_IMG_2087

The Bookmaker.

I’m talking about one that makes books, not this type of bookmaker.

Once upon a time, I interviewed Daniel Milnor. Dan is big into printing photos. And making photo books.

As well he should be. First, he shoots wonderful images that deserve to be printed.

And he now works for Blurb.

Photo bookmaking is second nature to him. While he’s moved on from his Smogranch, he’s still prolific with Shifter website. (I encourage you to check it out).

Book_Interior_051016_IMG_2088.jpg

Like I said, it’s in his nature to do photobooks. And when I read his site, I get reminded that I should print more books.

To do so isn’t that expensive. Well, this Mother’s Day one was a little since I dragged my heels and had to put a rush on it. But a normal one isn’t that bad.

Yes, it does take some time to do. But the benefit is you then have your photos printed. And you get to figure out how to tell the story, any story, even if it’s just a collection of images.

My story here was a look back, from May 2015 till May 2016. My wife comes to expect these books now (a blessing and a curse, and not just an automatic out of getting another gift for her.)

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Interior_052016_IMG_2089

But the other thing doing these books give me is…a smile. As I go through my photo files (actually, Flickr is great for this if you tag your images correctly, i.e. October 2015, Christmas 2015, March 2016….) I smile. I remember the past year, the photos of the kids, those I’ve forgotten.

And then when I get it back from AdoramaPix, I always love how it looks. They do fantastic work, so good, in fact, I’m hesitant to try a new company. They never fail to make the book look credible.

Plus, my wife loves it.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_052016_Books_IMG_2091

So the stack is getting higher. I have other books to put together too.

For me, that means editing down the photos. And waking up earlier to have some “me” time to get them done.

But it’s all worth it…when you can call yourself a Bookmaker.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Bookmaker

  1. I’m glad my wife doesn’t read you blog. If she did, I’d be at a loss to explain why I have not made her books for special days and occasions.

Leave a Reply

