Slow-Paced Life

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Redbirds_052016

My little town of Allentown (NJ) was recently named one of the 15 Slow-Paced Towns in New Jersey Where Life Is Still Simple

That’s  a pretty nice list to be on. Is Allentown slow-paced? Well, I’m not to sure about that but we certainly aren’t bustling. The slower pace is one of the reasons I wanted to live here. When we were looking to get some more space from our home in Robbinsville, I was hoping we’d end up either in Cranbury, NJ, or Allentown.

(You may be thinking But Mark, you love the Jersey Shore. Why not move down there?. Fair thought. While I do love the shore towns, property is expensive. Plus, it’s not super convenient to any of my company’s offices. Right now, it’s still close enough for me to enjoy any time I want. But I’ve said, if I ever move again, it’ll only be down to a shore town.)

(c)JerseyStyle Photogaphy_Heavenly Helpings_052016

We do love Allentown, though. Definitely a small-town feel with a quaint downtown to walk through. You see the same folks at the diner, the barbershop, the post office. Very low crime. Taxes ain’t great, but this is New Jersey after all.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Art Classes_052016

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Hot Rod_052016

I also love the historical aspect to this town. Steeped in the American Revolution as our nickname is “The Crossroads of the Revolution“.

(c)JerseyStyle Photograpy_Cemetary_052016

I’m happy I’ve started my #AllentownNJLife project. However, it seems my images are devoid of the very thing I like best about Allentown – the people. Hopefully, I’ll start to change that, with more portraits of those that live and work here.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Chase_052016

It’s great for this recognition that Allentown received. It’s still hard for the shops and businesses, though. It’s a fine line – we like the small-town aspect, but it’s a challenge for a small business to stay successful. I try to frequent them as much as possible. A new bakery is coming to the corner of Church & Main, in an old bakery that’s been vacant for a while. Hopefully, they can make a run at it. Nothing like a small-town bakery.

So, stay tuned. If you’re on Instagram, click the hashtag #allentownnjlife and follow along. And drop a comment, say hello from wherever you are in this big blue marble of ours.

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

Leave a Reply

