Philadelphia Stories

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Logan Square Pizza_BW_062016_DSCF4721

I spent last weekend in Philadelphia. Late afternoon Friday found me in a historic structure shooting portraits. Can’t wait to share some of them.

Saturday, it was up early and shooting the TriRock Series Philadelphia Triathlon. Great fun.

After downloading nearly 1,000 image files, processing some, and grabbing some take-out sushi, I was ready for a little wander time.

I parked near the Philadelphia Art Museum, and for about three hours, just wandered Center City with my Fuji (and my Canon Rebel film.)

It felt good to back in one of my most favorite cities. If I weren’t so tired from the day, or the fact that I had to be up and out at 5:30 a.m. Sunday morning, I would have wandered deep into the night.

On the way back to my car, I caught this scene. I like it. It’s almost Hopper-esque, if I may be so bold to say.

There’s a story here. Real or imagined. I wanted YOU to give me that story.

The Specs:

Write a 800-1,000 word flash fiction short story centered around this scene. Set it in Philly, whether you know the city or not. Send it to me at jerseystylephotography@gmail.com as a Word document, include your name and location and any websites you want links to.

The Deadline:

Sunday, July 31 at 12 p.m.

I’ll published a PDF of all the stories on Friday, August 5, 2016.

We’ll give the readers of this blog a week decide.

The winner will be announced on Friday, August 12.

What’s In It For You:

  • You’ll get to exercise your writing chops.
  • You’ll have something to do this July
  • The winner can pick one of my photos. I’ll make a 16×20 print, suitable for framing, for you.
  • I’ll try to get your Philadelphia story published here: http://www.philadelphiastories.org/

Interested? I hope so!

Now get to writing.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

6 thoughts on “Philadelphia Stories

  1. Variation on Hopper’s “Nighthawks”, I presume? 😉 First what you see is the “nighthawk” – black silouette person in bar window, exposed by white light (because of light You look at it FIRST). Later, you look wider, on a man (?) on the right side (thanks for hist WHITE siut, that’s why you can see him), a street view on the left, a car closing this side of photo… But the moct importatnt is of course our “nighthawk”. Great shot, great work of light, whites and blacks, and great co-work of photo’s parts/elements.

    • Michal, thank you for the comments. I wouldn’t be so bold as to invoke Hopper on this one, but yes, it struck me like that too. And yes, that’s a man on the left. He and a gal were engaged in a conversation that I couldn’t hear – Breaking up? Pleading his case? Talking about work? I don’t know. I also like the light on in the window above too. It’s just one of those photos for me where the elements came together and I was glad to be there to see them.

  2. Pingback: Events: Just Hangin’ Around | JerseyStyle Photography

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction: Two Quick Shots | JerseyStyle Photography

  4. Pingback: And Then She Said.. | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

