On Assignment: 2016 TriRock Triathlon

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Gear_062616_IMG_5191

A couple of weeks ago, I spent the weekend in Philadelphia shooting a variety of subjects – portraiture, athletes, street, architecture. Needless to say it was a fun weekend, and I’m looking forward to sharing some those images here.

My main reason for being there was that, for the third consecutive year, I shot the TriRock Series Triathlon on assignment for Johnson & Johnson (full transparency, I work for J&J’s pharma group, in case you didn’t know that.)

Background

I have a shot list going into this event, one that I go over with the event producer beforehand (this is a pretty big event, with over 500 J&J athletes, and more than 1,000 overall. Lots of prep work with the TriRock people, the city and not to mention J&J. No small feat.) So, in addition to those shots I “have” to get, I try to work myself around to get other interesting looks, too. Because, you know, it’s all about getting your camera in a new place.

Equipment

This year, for the first time, I didn’t rent anything. In the past, I’ve often rented a second camera body and a fast 70-200mm lens. This year, frankly, I didn’t feel I needed to. So, I went into battle with my own gear:

  • Canon 70D with a 24-105mm lens
  • FujiX100T
  • Canon S110

The Fuji was set to B&W for the most part. The Canon was around my neck and the little Canon in my pocket. This kit seemed to work well for me.

 

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Kiwami_mkrajnak_062516_IMG_4430.jpg

The Event

This is a two-day event. Saturday is the Sprint distance ( Swim: 800 meters. Bike: 15.7 miles. Run: 3.1 miles) and Sunday is the Olympic distance (Swim: 1500 meters. Bike: 24.8 miles. Run: 6.2 miles). There also is a kid’s Fun Run on Saturday as well, which is always fun to watch and more fun to shoot.

J&J employees and executives compete in both, and sometimes professional triathletes do the Sunday course, though not this year (long story involving purse money). Still, some very hardy athletes compete on Sunday. Actually, a few did both Saturday AND Sunday. Sheesh.

Event days start early. Athletes are in the water by 6:30 usually, and everything wraps up around 1. Then it’s back to the hotel to start processing images since the social media teams want them as soon as possible mean, RIGHT NOW!

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_AGorsky_mkrajnak_062516_IMG_4196

This year, the event team hired as second shooter, which was fine by me. I didn’t have to spread myself quite so thin, and could also go after some shots I normally wouldn’t have gotten.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Employees515_bw__062516_IMG_4308

DSilver_swim_mkrajnak_062616_IMG_5011

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_DSilver_2_mkrajnak_062616_IMG_4979

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Spenser Popeson_bw_mkrajnak_0626216_IMG_5217

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Cecelia Davis Hayes_mkrajnak_062616_MG_5271

Whenever I shoot events, they are their own little microcosms. A few years ago, the first time I shot this event, I tried to be everywhere. Last year, it was rainy which presented it’s own issues. This year…this year was smooth. I didn’t feel rushed, I got the shots I needed to get.

I even had the chance to grab some shots for myself like the Nesquik set-up. It’s amazing how chocolate milk went from being the bane of my ’70s existence – my parents never let us drink it – to now being a super food that helps athletes recover

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Nesquick_062616_IMG_5346

And, of course, my little travel friend Flo, crossing the finish line…

(c)JeresyStyle Photography_Flo_TriRock_062016_IMG_5443

Once again, this was a very fun, adrenaline-driven event for me to shoot. Had a great time, turn around some photos that my client really liked, and even got some shooting in for myself.

Things are a-changin’, so we’ll have to see if I shoot it again next year. But, for now, TriRock 2016 is in the books!

And more to come from Philly…soon….

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

