Shooting The Sax Man

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_ZSandler_clr_mkrajnak_071016_IMG_5709

The last time I shot Zack Sandler, it was on January 1 of this year.

The Asbury Park boardwalk was about 20 degrees with a wind whipping down it.

When we met up to shoot a couple of Sunday evenings ago, it was a good 65-70 degrees warmer, a brilliant summer evening.

And while I shot Zack the last time with his guitar, this time it was about him and his sax.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Sax_bw_mkrajnak_071016_IMG_5540

We met up outside The Stone Pony, as he had a gig there with Bobby Mahoney & The Seventh Son later on that evening. I had about an hour or so with Zack, then he had to go load in for the show.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_ZSandler_clr_mkrajnak_071016_IMG_5606

He had a few looks he wanted us to get, like a shot of him overlooking the Asbury Park boardwalk.

And by some really nice windows outside of Convention Hall. (Got nice and lucky with the clouds reflected in the windows.)

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_ZSandler_clr_mkrajnak_071016_DSCF5189

I was shooting with my Canon 70D and my Fuji X100T. Can’t complain about either machine. Zack is so comfortable in front of the camera, he gave me some really nice looks.

(c)JeresyStyle Photography_ZSandler_clr_mkrajnak_071016_DSCF5090

It was also very cool shooting him in such a venerable location as Convention Hall, which has seen the likes of The Rolling Stones, The Doors and, of course, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band play there.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_ZS1_071116_IMG_5727

I think this is my favorite image for the whole shoot, though. Done with the Fuji, it came out pretty much exactly how I had it in my head.Think I’ll make a print of it soon.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_ZSandler_bw_mkrajnak_071116_DSCF5226

One of the coolest parts of the shoot, though, was having Zack play me a little Jungleland while we overlooked Little Eden, aka Asbury Park. Doesn’t get much more Jersey Sound than that.

 

I really like the whole set of images me and Zack did. My second favorite, though, might be this one. I shot it just prior to the band starting up in The Stone Pony. I like just that hint of light, plus the sign in the background. A sense of person, a sense of place.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Zack Sandler2_mkrajnak_071016_IMG_5767

Click here to view a slideshow of some more of Zack’s images.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

4 thoughts on “Shooting The Sax Man

  1. Pingback: Spirits In The Summer Night | JerseyStyle Photography

  2. Pingback: Event: A Set For Vets | JerseyStyle Photography

  3. Pingback: Musicians & The Mosaic: Zack Sandler | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

