Back In The 570

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Landscape1_080316_IMG_5930

For the second time in just a few weeks, I’m back in Northeast Pennsylvania for a couple of days. Helping out my parents with some doctor appointments and such. Back in the 570, so to speak.

The family stayed back in New Jersey for this one, so when I drove up on Wednesday evening, I decided to forsake the highway (PA Turnpike) and take a byway for much of the way.

I decided to hope off the Turnpike at the Lehigh Valley exit and pick up Route 309, which actually runs for 134 miles overall. In my lifetime, I’ve often driven some of it, but I think this trip was one of my largest bulk drives of it.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Inspection2_080316_IMG_5933

Lots of rolling hills, lots of cornfields, lots of beautiful evening light and two drive-in movie theaters. The trip took longer because a) I wasn’t doing 75 up the Turnpike, but also because I kept pulling over to shoot.

Which is what I expected. And love.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Beacon_080316_IMG_5950

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_hot rod_080316_DSCF6054

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Little Schuykill_080416_IMG_5940

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Foodie_080316_DSCF6025

You may remember that one of my summer goals was to travel. That doesn’t always mean hopping on a plane and going to some far-off place.

Sometimes that means taking the road less traveled, peering around the corner, and documenting what you find.

I’ll be hitting the road back to NJ this afternoon, and haven’t yet decided on what route I’ll take. Maybe I’ll backtrack the way I came. Yes, it’ll be longer, but I’m sure it would be worth it.

Head out this weekend, peer around the corner. Let us know what you find.

(c)Mark Krajnak  | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

4 thoughts on “Back In The 570

    • I appreciate that, David. I’m now reading Jim Harrison’s memoir (he wrote Legends Of The Fall, among a ton of other things). In one chapter, he says, in writing about how he likes to get away “So off you go, avoiding the interstates as much as possible because they are mostly efficient traffic funnels following the geographic path of least resistance for carrying maximal flow.” And, I’d add, you don’t get to to see as much cool stuff!

  1. Pingback: Eye Candy: Make Prints, August Edition | JerseyStyle Photography

  2. Pingback: Project: Route 309 | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

