Protecting Memories

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Bike Riding_clr2_090816_IMG_4343

“For me, photography is about protecting memories. Protecting them for yourself and for others.”

The above quote comes from 72 Essays on Photography by Scott Bourne, something I’m reading right now, in between all the other stuff I’m reading.

Last evening, after dinner, we all had some ice cream that was left over in the freezer from the weekend.

Then my wife then took my daughter to karate class.

Me and the boys…we ran around the yard playing a game we call Pirate. Then we then had a game of catch, rode bikes, and played kickball.

At one point, I saw this scene in front of me. I had my little Canon S120 on me and made this shot. The warm evening light was spot on.

Some grandly planned trip or outing? Nah.

A simple New Jersey summer evening playing like a ten-year-old with my boys, but one I’ll remember because of this photo?

Yep.

I had to protect the memory of this evening.

Go make some memories, and protect them too.

(And you bet I’ll be making a print of this memory.)

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

One thought on “Protecting Memories

Leave a Reply

