The Best Camera

truck-flag

Do you remember the Best Camera App? Did you perhaps download?

Ever wonder what happened to to?

Truth be told, I knew of it but never used it. For the longest time, due to my day job, I carried a Blackberry and it wasn’t available. But it’s creator, photographer Chase Jarvis, is someone I keep an eye one.

The man flat out creates. And he’s a passionate about it. His Best Camera app and community was the digital equivalent to the tagline “The Best Camera Is The One You Have On You.”

It’s not about Nikon or Canon or Fuji or Phase One or Leica. If you have any of those machines, but they are sitting at home, well, it’s hard to make good photos.

Chase was a big proponent of the phone camera, mostly the iPhone. It was with him all the time and allowed him to create. He then tried to create what now seems to be an early rendition of Instagram…but it never stuck.

Then to me, he went dark for a while. That happens. You follow certain photographers or people on line and all of a sudden they go away and you’re not sure why. You think the worst and sometimes they come back online, sometimes they don’t.

Anyway, last week, Chase penned a long read about what actually happened. The piece exhibits the same passion he always shows. If you have the time, give it a read, or at least a skim and/or watch the video. It may answer some questions we’ve all had. It may also raise others.

I shot the image above near the end of a four mile run last week, in the late afternoon. I no longer have a Blackberry but the basic Samsung Galaxy model. I don’t love my phone photos. But I’ve been carrying this with me on my runs to listen to my Amazon Prime music. And, now that I have it one me, I get tempted to fire off some snaps.

When I posted this photo to my FB and IG accounts, it got some nice traction. People like the colors (thanks to the Snapseed editing software I use) and the composition. I like how I caught the flag if flow, and yes, the colors too.

Ragged Glory...kind of represents the U.S. at this time, after the long summer of violence, and the even longer months of presidential election campaigning.

The biggest thing to me, though, is…I had a camera with me to make this photo. It wasn’t my Canon (70D or small point-and-shoot) or my Fuji X100T. If I didn’t have the smartphone with me, it would have just gone into my mental bank.

This was the best camera I had on me. I saw it in my head first, then took the shot.

Hockey great once said “You’ll miss 100 percent of the shots you don’t take.”

The same can be said for photography.

Take the shot.

(c)Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

2 thoughts on “The Best Camera

Leave a Reply

