30 Days of Noir: Day 14 ~ The Sound of Noir

boardwalk-meeting

Hey man, can you lend me a few bucks?
And tonight can you get us a ride?

Yeah, we gotta make it through the tunnel
Got a meeting with THE MAN on the other side…

~ Bruce Springsteen, Meeting Across The River

On Day 13, I talked about Noircon and how there was a music element to the convention this year.

My JerseyNoir photography has often been influenced by music, most notably the songs and lyrics of Bruce Springsteen, The Gaslight Anthem (and a side project, Horrible Crowes) and Social Distortion. Heck, Gaslight even has a song called Film Noir, with lyrics that could be straight out of a Cornell Woolrich story:

See, for ten long years I’ve been hustlin’ around
Tryin’ to wash the sins and the sweat from my brow
Just tryin’ to find a better life for me and my own
Just some rest for these tired workin’ fingers..

This week I’ll look at some of the images influenced by some of these songs.

And it’s best to start with this one, an image based on Meeting Across The River. I think this is the first one that really lead me down this musical noir journey.

Click here to read the whole background.

And don’t touch that radio dial…more to come this week!

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

Leave a Reply

