30 Days Of Noir: Day 21: A Drop of The Good Stuff

day-21_drop-of-the-good-stuff

And a drop of color.

Classic film noir is in black & white. That’s the whole point – the darkness of the story and the characters, the jagged edges of both parallel the monochrome look of the film.

But, as film noir expanded, a new device – color – was injected into the story.

Many say the “neo-noir” sub genre refers to crime dramas and mysteries produced from the mid-1960s to the present that, while they are generally shot in color and do not always emulate the visual style of classic film noir, often borrow the themes, archetypes, and plots made famous by the film noir genre.

Now, from a visual perspective, I generally keep my Jersey Noir in B&W. However, I, too, have deviated into the color realm from time to time. Above is one such treatment.

Some photographers who tip their lens into this area love the use of color. Joe McNally is a prime example of this. Dan Bannino does some really snazzy noir work in color, too.

In some respects, it’s cool to see the mugs in fedoras and femme fatale dames in lush color. I recently watched Gangster Squad again – certainly not noir but rather crime fiction –  but it takes place in that era, and the colors were gorgeous in it.

And they’ve even remade some classic film noirs – DOA, The Big Sleep –  in color. Here’s a good list of neo-noir films should you wish to check them out.

This week, I’ll show some of my color “noir” images. For the film noir purist, color will never fly. But it also ain’t the worst thing ever, either.

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

2 thoughts on “30 Days Of Noir: Day 21: A Drop of The Good Stuff

    • Heh, yes probably. There’s actually a backstory to this image. Once, when Joe McNally and I ended a shoot after a long day, we met in the hotel restaurant. He knew I liked whiskey and had ordered me a glass. What he (and I while I sipped it) was that he ordered me JW Blue, at $35 a glass. I almost fell over when I saw the bill (I was on an expense account, so was paying.) He honestly had no idea, thought $35 was for the bottle. It’s been a running joke since then.

Leave a Reply

