The Beauty of Prints

logan-pizza-print_111016_img_8928

I felt very bad.

A couple of weeks ago, as I was going through older emails, I realizes something.

Holy Cow! I never sent Bruce his print!

Not Bruce as in Springsteen….but Bruce as in Harris!

Via the pick of a hat, he won a print after commenting on the little short story contest I ran the other month.

I mean, I know I got busy with work and the family and everything else, but I just plumb forgot to contact my peeps at AdoramaPix and get the print made, and sent out to Bruce.

Finally, after coming back from my trip to Europe, my neglect hit me. Luckily, in a short amount of time, I was able to get that rectified. Got the electronic file ready, sent it off to AdoramaPix, got the print back, QA’ed it, was happy with it, and sent it off to Bruce.

Then got a very nice email from him saying he LOVED it.

Again, a really nice  job by AdoramaPix.

And more prints…

three-prints_112016_

For the better part of the summer, I toted a Canon Rebel G film SLR with my “nifty fifty” lens around with  me. Had it loaded with Kodak TriX 400 B&W film.

And it took me forever to shoot the roll. I really took my time.

Then, once I finished, it took forever for the roll to come back to me. But it was worth it when I saw the print of Matt, my youngest son. That’s him on the bottom up top.

It’s hard to describe, really, but I fell in love with this 4×6 prints as soon as I saw it. I like his expression, I like the shallow depth of field the 50 mm gave me, I like the grain. It’s a print like this where I can see why people want to say “Film’s Not Dead.”

Also on that roll were some portraits I took of Tome Wilson back in June. I liked some of these too, though some were better than others. Some were badly out of focus. Kinda cool in their own right, but a definite “miss.”

Film may not be dead, and prints aren’t dead either. Just yesterday, I put in order for 4×6’s of my October images. A little behind since it’s already the end of November, but they are getting done.

New Year’s is coming…here’s a resolution for you: Don’t forget to make your prints as well!

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

Leave a Reply

