Dispatches: Xi’an Market

scooter_xian_112816_dscf0538

Ok, so Gary and I finished up our work day, Day 2 in Xi’An, and we went back to the hotel to backup files.

But not before I was able to get a nice portrait of Gary…

gary-chapman_portrait_xjp_112816_dscf0610

Since we had some time before dinner, I decided to take a walk around the Xi’an neighborhood where our hotel was. I wasn’t sure what was in the area, and a photo walk seemed like a good way to kill some time.

It was late afternoon and the light really diffused and flat. The streets were pretty active, though, and one of the first things I came upon was a game of checkers, which drew quite the crowd.

checkers_112916_dscf0732

checkers_xian_112816_dscf0736

hands1_112916_dscf0724

They seemed amused that I was there watching.

I headed down the street and turned the corner, checking out the shops and scenes as I went along.

dog-tired_xian_112816_dscf0741

fast-food_xian_112816_dscf0791

storefront_xian_112816_dscf0775

Then, surprisingly, I stumbled upon an open-air market. I had no idea it was in the area.

market_112916_dscf0756

xian-market_112916_dscf0744

Strolling through local markets – be it in India, Nicaragua, or wherever – is one of my favorite things. I just wish I was able to buy some of what I saw.

spices_xian_112816_dscf0760

A slice of daily life.

market_112916_dscf0770

child-bike_xian_112916_dscf0773

street-store_xian_112916_dscf0789

No matter how far I go, though, home life is never too far away. As I headed back to the hotel, I passed a building, a bank maybe, that had a “guardian lion” outside. Most of these times, these guardian lions are found in pairs. In fact, I have a set of bookends of these from my last visit to China.

watchdog_xian_112816_dscf0792

These figures, in Chinese, are traditionally called simply shi. The reason it reminded me of home was because it had been just a few weeks prior that our 12-year-old Shi Tzu (or “lion dog”) Bella passed away.  She was very un-lion like, of course, as is her sister, Roxie. However, when I first learned about these guardian lions, and their background, I always associate Bella and Roxie with fierce looking Shi Tzu’s….

Maybe Bella, in her own way, was keeping an eye on me…

(c) Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2016

 

 

One thought on “Dispatches: Xi’an Market

  1. Ah, this is much more like the Xian i knew. At that time there was also wheat or some grain drying on the pavements. People sitting around like you show, so things never do really change 🙂

Leave a Reply

