JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 01 | 07 | 17

morning-light_011516_dscf2124

And then on the way to work…

Hey it’s back!

I stopped doing my Visual Week In Review back in December 2015. At the time, I said I wanted to not contribute to the visual noise we all experience every day.

But then, I kinda missed it. And I noticed I was going back to these weekly reviews as type of diary, visual or otherwise. I liked the stuff I was unearthing, some of the photos I was remembering.

Because that’s what my picture taking is – I’m documenting. The things I see, the places I go, my family. Take the shot above, for example. I was driving to work the other morning. Now, right now, my physical office is about 90 minutes away from me. Not far in terms of mileage, but just through a lot of small towns with 35 mph speed limits. And while I get to listen to a lot of sports talk show, and eat sunflower seeds, I detest that drive.

It’s soul-sucking.

Since my boss and team is very flexible (and I often work with teams in Europe), I only have to go to that office once in a while. I work from a closer location, various coffee shops, or my home most of the time now. Have WiFi will travel!

But the light is at the end of the tunnel. I’m probably being moved out that office space for good as the building undergoes building renovations. The company is taking this opportunity to downsize office space, especially due to who actually “badges in” into the building. Since I’m at under 30% of badging in, I’ll be asked to give up my office space. And that’s fine with me. Give it to someone that can use it. I’ll be free to just keep up my current situation.

However, even as much as I detested having to make that 90  minute drive this past Wednesday, I caught the photo above. If I hadn’t gone in, I wouldn’t have seen this nice light, this scene. And if I didn’t have the camera beside me, I wouldn’t have captured it. The photo was taken in my mind first, then with the tool.

And now I can share it with you.

So, in my long-winded way, I’ve just decided to go back to oversharing. Maybe this will be a weekly thing again. Maybe it won’t be and I’ll have to come up with a new name for this.

Maybe I’ll post one big photo, or a collection of visuals from the week.

jsp-visual-week-in-review_010716

So, we’ll see.

But I think this is back.

************************************************************************

  • What I finished reading this week: Woodsong

“We’re photographing for now, not later.”CJ Chilvers   (I found CJ online in 2016 and like his writing and thoughts on things. Give him a read.)

© Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2017

 

One thought on “JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 01 | 07 | 17

  1. Just call the post “A Visual Review” and let it cover the time from the previous “Visual Review” post be it a day, a week, a couple of weeks, or longer.

Leave a Reply

