Project: Route 309

ed-bicycles_011017_mg_2362

Back in August, when I drove home to visit my parents in Northeastern PA for a few days, I made the decision to forsake the turnpike and follow Route 309. I didn’t realize then this was going to become an exploration experience and the birth of a new personal project for me.

I guess, since I’ve had the opportunity to make a few more trips up and back in the last few months, my Route 309 Project has been born.

route-309-farm_011017_mg_2370

Every time I drive this route now, though, my eyes are open. I’m doing some exploration that I didn’t expect.And seeing some scenes that are visually appealing to me.

beacon_011017_mg_2387

stone-wall_route-309_012017_mg_2374

old-barn_012017_mg_2473

the-furniture-collection_route-309_012817_mg_2495

The final destination of this drive – which my daughter calls “the slow way” because it does add a good 30-45 minutes on to the overall travel time, is the Wyoming Valley. When I was a kid, I crossed the Cross-Valley Expressway probably a million times without giving it a thought.

Now I’m always trying to looks for something interesting – like low-lying fog – and get a good shot.

susquehanna-river_011217_mg_2454

More from this Route 309 Project project to come…

© Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2017

 

2 thoughts on “Project: Route 309

  1. Your images bring back memories from the 10 years I lived near Lansdale, PA. The barn and diner seem so familiar. I’m looking forward to seeing more images from this project. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

