JSP Week In Review ~ 1.04.17

jsp-week-in-review_020417

I used to say I hibernate from Thanksgiving until oh, about the first week in April, that’s how much I dislike winter.

But, the last few winters have been better for me. Still getting out and doing things helps. Last weekend, we took the kids to the Poconos to go tubing with friends of ours. We had passes for three hours – about the right amount of time for me to be outside in winter. Granted, it was pretty pleasant for most of the time  (got cold at the end) but it was still a leap from a  few years ago for me to even consider it.

Winter trail running is enjoyable to me too. The trees often knock down any wind there may be and the I enjoy the peace and quiet.

It does go back to the experience though. You read about this more now – people prefer to pay for an experience rather than a thing. This is easier for me since I’m not much of a car guy / tech guy / need really expensive stuff guy. And I am trying to “declutter” more now. If I buy something new, I try to give something I already have a way.

So these experiences we do as a family, or I do with my kids or even alone, are what I strive for now. I try to get out in to our big blue marble and see what the heck is going on out there. I enjoy that more than the latest iPhone or new pair of shoes (but not a new camera.)

Therefore, it was a good week of experiences to put into the memory banks. What was your favorite experience this week?

___________________________________________________________________

Photographer birthdays this week: David Hobby (Strobist guy), Matt Mahurin, Frank Stefanko.

What I Watched This Week: The Player. It’s been a while since I’ve seen this. I still don’t get why this is labeled a comedy. Dark one, maybe.

What I’m Reading: The Private Eye (hard to read since it keeps falling apart!)

Good read: The Image of Time

Hint: It’s the start of a new month. Back up that January work!

My Pick: New England 37  Atlanta 34

Don’t think about making art. Just get it done. Let everyone else decide if it’s good or bad, whether they love it or hate it. While they are deciding that, make even more art. – Andy Warhol

© Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2017

Leave a Reply

