Snow (Geese) Patrol

snow-geese1_020617_dscf3440

I’m no nature photographer. Patience – like, a lot of it – is a big part of nature/wildlife photography. And I don’t always have that.

I like street photography more. First, there’s people. People lend drama to a scene to me. Their movements, expressions, actions.

Then there’s the stick-and-jab (or in this case, shoot-and-move) aspect to street photography. You see a scene developing, get ready, take the shot, and move on in the stream of people.

Yes, sure, sometimes I’ve hung around a particular spot which great shadows or a bounce of light  – or even an iconic, yet little used, element of the city…

phone-booth

To see who would enter my frame. But that’s rare. It’s more shoot and move.

This year, my ‘hood in New Jersey has seen what to  me seems like a large influx of snow geese. Not sure if they really are here in greater numbers, or if I’m just noticing the more. But they’ve been hovering and circling and and honking landing in great numbers around here.

You can’t just sit there with you camera on the truck seat besides you and not try to capture a shot. So, early this week, I saw these flocks of snow geese both on my drive to work in the morning and also on the way home in late afternoon. I’ve seen them at other times, too, and tried to capture the event, but never quite got it.

I don’t know that I have. I like the shot that leads off this post because of the evening colors in the sky which lends a bit more to it. This shot, from the morning drive, also is a bit interesting.

snow-geese2morning_020617_dscf3431

I grabbed both of these with my FujiX100T and finished using Nik filters to give the colors some pop. I could probably get a better/more interesting shot if I had more patience. Or worked the scene a bit more, like I do during other shoots.

But a truly good shot of this interesting event is staying elusive for me. Perhaps I’ll give it another go before winter ends and the snow geese migrate away.

Probably not today, though. Snow – actual snow and not geese – is falling hard here and we’re supposed to get 8 to 12 inches of the white stuff today. It’s just getting started, in full force now.

Even though yesterday, it was 65 degrees and I wore shorts on a five mile run. And, no, I did not listen to any Snow Patrol.

© Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

