Friday Noir: Down This Dark Alley

jsp_noir-alley2_020217

Well, well, well.

Well!

Some interesting news coming out of Turner Classic Movies yesterday.

Beginning on March 5, they are dedicating Sunday mornings to the film noir genre and calling it Noir Alley.

The series will be hosted by the “Czar of Noir”, Eddie Muller, and looks to be an intriguing series.

Of course, I’m a big fan of TCM’s Noirvember series, and loved when they did their Summer of Darkness a couple of years ago. The film noir genre continues to influence my photography, not just my Jersey Noir series, but lighting ideas in general.

That said…Sunday mornings at 10 a.m. ET are about as un-noir-like as you can get. Sunday mornings about about pancakes and orange juice and church and family stuff. Especially heading into the summer months.

Sundays at 10 pm would be better for me. Friday night even better than that (the whole old-days late-movie aura of it all.)

Despite all that, I’m looking forward to catching Noir Alley when I can. One of my all-time favorite film noirs (and a Top-5 Favorite Film of mine) The Maltese Falcon kicks things off. Full schedule is available here.

Who knows…maybe someday they’ll hit me up to present my favorite noir films, or at least give their viewers a glance at some of my original Jersey Noir images.

Until then, I’ll keep my fedora sharp and my gat oiled.

Because you never know what’ll happen down a dark alleyway….

© Mark Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | 2017

 

 

One thought on “Friday Noir: Down This Dark Alley

Leave a Reply

