JSP Week In Review ~ 3.26.17

John Madere_team

I logged into my LinkedIn account yesterday and it told me it was John Madere’s birthday. (What would we do without social media that shouts this type of info at us all the time.)

John is the guy second from right, a fine art and portrait photographer from New York. I worked him a lot around 2008-2010 as the art director we were working with at the time hired him a lot to do the executive portraits we needed.

But I also worked with him on a few other stories…U.S. Olympic Rowers in Princeton, an executive director of the U.N. in New York. He’s probably the most meticulous photographer I’ve ever worked with. Loves his gadgets, and loves his big soft boxes.

Here’s a Sunday Focus interview I did with John a few years ago. Seeing his b-day come up though got me thinking of working with him, how he influenced where I am today, even though back (geez, less than 10 years ago), I was really just starting out on my whole photography path. Wish I could go back to some of those days and learn even more.

I’ve been really fortunate to work with some top photographers because of my day job. That thought never escapes me.

____________________________

This Week’s Links:

Birthdays this week:  Cynthia Elbaum, Mary Ellen Mark, Bert Andrews, Edward Weston, John Madere.

Oh, and Steve McQueen.

What I watched this week: Gimme Danger

Also: Manchester By The Sea. Very underwhelmed by it.

And finally…Shotgun Stories.

What I read this week: Bad Boy Boogie by Thomas Pluck

RIP Dallas Green, the man who helped bring a World Series to Philadelphia

Great read: Elliott Erwitt, still working hard.

Friend of Bruce Springsteen still thinking up excuses to not see his band.

National Cheesesteak Day falls on a Friday in Lent? That’s just not right..

“If I have any ‘message’ worth giving to a beginner it is that there are no short cuts in photography.” ~ Edward Weston

 

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2017

Twitter | Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

