Event: Sofar Sounds Asbury Park

Sofar Signage

On the heels of shooting rock and roll Hall of Famers (and potential Hall of Famers) a few day before in New York, I came back to New Jersey for a decidedly smaller event.

September 20, a Wednesday evening, saw 1,000 artists in 60 countries played 300 gigs – in conjunction with Amnesty International and Sofar Sounds – to raise awareness of the world’s refugees.

One of these gigs was in Asbury Park and I had the pleasure of shooting The Vansaders (my favorite NJ band now) and The Front Bottoms in about as intimate setting as you could get – someone’s backyard.

 

I had first heard about this “secret show” on Twitter. Seeing who was playing I decided to try to get to shoot it. After a few emails, the two guys hosting the show said “C’mon down!”

So I did!

The Vansaders (lead by Doug Zambon who I shot for my Musicians And The Mosaic project last month) plugged in and kicked off this backyard show.

 

Vansaders_sofarap_mkrajnak_091917_DSCF1794

 

The Vansaders_sofarap_mkrajnak_091927_DSCF1814

Doug Zambon

I thought The Vansaders sounded great. Here’s a video I shot (while shooting stills) so you can have a listen.

It was a challenging spot for The Vansaders to be in. The attendees, of which there were about 30 people, had to try to win tickets. From what I understand, the big draw was The Front Bottoms, and that’s who people were there to see.

That said, I thought Doug and his band did a great job and won over some new fans.

After a brief intermission where a Diedre, a volunteer from Amnesty International, talked about AI’s mission, The Front Bottoms took the stage…uh, patio.

TFB_sofarap_mkrajnak_091917_DSCF1887

TFB_sofarap_mkrajnak_091917_MG_0921

Brian Stella, lead singer of The Front Bottoms

The Front Bottoms, an Asbury Park band, are blowing up a bit along the Jersey Shore and nationally, from what I understand. They play some catchy riffs with quirky lyrics that remind me a bit of Wheezer.

I didn’t get the chance to shoot any original video of them, but here’s Vacation Town, a song they released earlier in September.

To be honest, I don’t love the images I pulled from this shoot. Yes, it was a bit challenging – one spotlight, not many angles to hit, not much room for the musicians to do much – I thought I could have worked the scene a bit better.

It’s all a process, I guess. While I was happy with my hustle to get this shoot booked, maybe next time I can figure out something to make lemonade when I get dealt lemons.

Well, maybe not lemons since the bands were good, it was for a great cause (I did some live Tweeting during it as well) and I got some keepers.

So, not so much just lemons, but more like really tart, but slightly sweet water. Know what I mean?

Group Photo_sofarap_mkrajnak_091917_MG_0986

TFB_sofarap_mkrajnak_091917_DSCF1899

TFB_sofarap_mkrajnak_091917_MG_0988

The crowd…plus Deidre and The Front Bottoms

Gotta keep after it. Gotta keep growing and learning.

And shooting. Always be shooting.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2017

Instagram | Twitter

One thought on “Event: Sofar Sounds Asbury Park

  1. Pingback: Event: Global Citizens Festival | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

