October 2009, Part 2

gateway-to-india_mk101809_mg_2836

Gateway To India

 

Right around this date in October 2009, I landed at Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport, just outside of Mumbai, around 4 a.m. It was my first (and, so far, only) visit to India.

The photo team I was with had just arrived from Moscow by way of Turkey. I was as far from the little town in Northeast Pennsylvania as I ever thought I could be. India was soooo exotic to me. I had no idea what to expect.

 

hotel-check-in2_mg_2884

We met our drivers and headed through the hazy early morning darkness to the Taj Mahal Hotel in Mumbai, the same one that had been attacked by terrorists the previous year. We figured it would be one of the safest in the city now. It was.

By the time we arrived at the airport, it was nearly 6 a.m. We checked in, dropped out bags in our rooms, and all met back in the lobby. The smell of marigolds filled the air as the lobby was filled with them for decoration. We arrived during Diwali, though I think we were at the every last day of it.

marigolds_mg_2860

We walked across the street to the Gateway of India. It took a few minutes for my lens to assimilate to the humidity – it kept fogging up. I shot the image that opens this post around 6:30 a.m. incredibly tired, but incredibly excited for this adventure.

cricket-players2_mg_2937

My India adventure had begun. The food I would eat, the people I would meet, the places I would see are some of my most memorable travel images.

portrait

 

fabric_mg_3037.jpg

Today is the first day of Diwali 2017. I always think about my trip to India around this time of year. I’m sure you can see why. Hope to one day get back.

Here are a few more posts about this trip…Thieves Bazaar….Go With Ganesh….Take Me To The River

The unfortunate part about my trip to Russia and India….the main, hi-res images are on a hard drive that has corrupted on me. I didn’t do a good job at backing them up. It will cost me a pretty penny to send that drive out to get it fixed. I’ve yet to bite that bullet but I so want to go through those images again. I’m happy I have these past blog posts, though, to help me remember.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2017

Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply

