Morning In The Hayden Valley

hayden-valley-at-dawn_48412060772_o

Finally near the end of editing all the photos I took during our July trip to the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone.

While I don’t want to bore you with the Krajnak Family Vacation Photos, I do want to share some that I particularly like.

Like the one above. While my family slept one more, I got up at 5 a.m. to drive into the Hayden Valley to see what I could see.

Canyon Lodge Gas Station_MG_9767

Canyon Lodge Gas Station, Pre-Dawn

Hayden Valley_072919_MG_9812

They say early morning and early evening is the best time to see wildlife in the Hayden Valley. I didn’t get very lucky in seeing much wildlife save for a few Canadian geese and some pronghorn deer, but I was treated to some pretty spectacular morning light.

Yellowstone River_072919_MG_9823

Pronghorn_Hayden Valley_072919_MG_9795

Hayden Valley Sunrise_072919_MG_9810

After driving up and down part of the valley for almost an hour, I was ready to head back for coffee and breakfast with the family. As I drove on, I spotted something else that caught my eye: An early-morning fly fisherman casting his line in the Yellowstone River.

I pulled over and pulled out my 70-200 mm. I certainly didn’t want to bother him, or the fish, so I hung back in the trees but snapped a few frames.

Morning Fly Fishing_072919_MG_9835

Fly fisherman_Hayden_072919_MG_9836

I missed an opportunity to do a proper portrait of him when he exited the river a few minutes later. Kinda kicking myself now, since the light was so nice and he had an interesting look.

But, I did get myself out of bed early to chase some beautiful light. My advice when traveling: Get up early, stay up late.

As I always say…you can sleep on the plane.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2019

Instagram | Twitter

 

 

2 thoughts on “Morning In The Hayden Valley

Leave a comment