WWJS

Share

This is Part Two of a day in New York. Part One can be found here.

“I’m interested in the picture, not the pixel.” ~ Jay Maisel

Where was I? Oh yeah…standing in front of the altar…deciding if I should ring the bell or not.

Well, no, I never did. Not for any other reason than just thinking it would be impolite to just bother someone at their house, dropping in unannounced. Yep, this is not only Jay’s studio, but his house too. The old Germania Bank building. It’s a pretty incredible story in its own right, not just because of who lives there now. Check out this article from New York magazine.

The outside is like a fortress covered in street art. Almost looks like something out of that Kurt Russell movie, Escape from New York. Truly unique. Truly Jay.


View large.

So, after shooting these few frames, standing in The Bowery with sweat beading on my forehead and dripping down my back, the only right respectable thing to do was to, well, go out and do some New York street photography. All the while with WWJS – What Would Jay Shoot? – running through my head.

View large.

I saw this one developing as she crossed the street with the dogs…saw it in my head exactly how I wanted it…and then…and then….

And then at just the moment I wanted to shoot, the other person, coming in camera right, crossed the frame too. Blew it. But hey, it’s street photography. I couldn’t go ask Dog Walking Lady for a redo. Ah well.

And where else but in NYC can you find Rich Uncle Pennybags flipping you the bird? And yeah, Knicks…how’d that whole LeBron campaign work out for you?

Uptown, earlier in the day before my meetings, I liked a lot of what was going on here – the colors, the lines, the reflections….

After being patient and just watching and waiting…I got this. And I liked it even more.

(Also did a B&W conversion on this one – see it here – kinda like it as well.)

Would Jay have approved of any of these? Would he have told me to move my ass more?

I don’t know. And probably.

I should have rang the bell.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2010 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS2 or PSE6 and Nik Software.

7 thoughts on “WWJS

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention WWJS « JerseyStyle Photography Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. I have to say, you’ve taken your craft up a few notches.

    Interesting, re the dog walker, I find the woman crossing the frame to be more interesting with her in it.

    T

  3. New York is quite the backdrop for photography. Hard to pick a favorite photo here my sentimental choice would be the last one…it really captures the feel of Cubana…

  4. Pingback: Midtown On A Hot Summer Night « JerseyStyle Photography Blog

Leave a comment