JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 07.01.23

 

How the heck is it July already?

Just a few days ago, I saw the old “It’s six months to Christmas!” on social media

Geez, really?

So, we’re halfway through 2023. How’s everyone doing?

My first half could have been better. Lots of personal stuff have kept me on an emotional rollercoaster and dampened my creativity.

But, in a lot of other ways, it’s been a good year because I’ve been able to take some personal stock and try to do better.

* I’ve cleaned up my health through a better diet and more consistent exercising (down a few pounds, sleeping better, feel stronger)

* I’ve tried to better myself through personal development reading.

* I’ve tried to expand my creative thinking by reading books on different non-fiction topics.

* I’ve watched less mindless television (I don’t think TV is intrinsically bad; but the mindless kind is, especially when you can be reading)

Even if less-than-great things are happening to us, it’s still up to us to make the best of it. Or the better of it.

Be a good human today. It’s our job.

_______________________________

This Week’s Links:

What I Read This Week: I finished The Man Who Knew. Very slow and plodding and I don’t know that I even understood when the mystery was unraveled.  Also,  River of No Reprieve, a travel/adventure log. I also started Boy Trouble, a campy teen novel from the from the 1950’s. Reading it as more of a “This is writing for teens back then, huh?” aesthetic than anything else. (Wondering if my mom ever read any of these)

What I Watched This Week: I finished The Bear, S2. It was amazing – from story to the color wash of the film to the dialogue to acting to everything. Watch it.

What I Listened To This week: New Jersey Is The World podcast interview with Brian Fallon, leader singer of my favorite band, The Gaslight Anthem. Lots of “inside baseball” – NJ style – here, but a good listen.

Barred: Joe McNally On Choosing Bar Light…and  a Great Location!

Foul Ball!: The Dangers of Being a Sports Photographer

One Light: Great one- light setups with Joe Edelman

When Artists Became Rockstars: Stephen Aiken’s 1970s NYC

Yes, Chef!: The Best Food Moments of The Bear, S2 (spoiler alert)

Hey Ray: A Man’s Quiet Life (It’s a good piece, but if Ray didn’t want all this…why write it?)

Favorite Photo of the Week: Via @davidbutow

Best Line I Read This Week: “As the wind rippled the water, the Lena, now as iron gray as the clouds above, uncoiled like a snake through the sopki, with sloping walls of gloomy taiga ever curving and straightening out ahead of us. Mist daubed shadowy dales and groves of rayless depth, creating a Brother’s Grimm landscape of nightmares and lost childhood.” ~ From River of No Reprieve

“Technique isn’t important. The technique is in the blood. Events and mood are more important than good light and the happening is what is important.” ~ André Kertész

 

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2023

Instagram | Twitter | LinkTree

Leave a comment