JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 01. 20.24

There’s a scene in one of my favorite ’80s movies, Vision Quest, where one of the characters,  Elmo, delivers a brilliant scene on quality versus quantity.

Something made me think about this scene this week – maybe a podcast I was listening to –  so I had to dial it up.

We live in an oversaturated world. Too much of everything, it seems.

Too much to read.

Too much to watch.

Too many platforms to post on.

Too many emails.

Too many text messages

Too much to consume, both creatively and viscerally.

It makes you tired, doesn’t it?

So, you have to carve out the quiet.

Unsubscribe, don’t post as much, go hungry a little.

Creatively and viscerally.

It can be done, I think.

But I’m not saying I’m doing it.

Trying. But not there…yet.

___________________

This Week’s Links:

What I Read This Week: I finished up This Boy’s Life by Tobias Wolfe; Working on The American Way; Started You Shall Know Us By Our Velocity by Dave Eggars and

What I Watched This Weeks: Eagles playoff football. Bah. My team is out; The Boston Strangler (I forgot the innovative camera techniques here); also S4 E1 of True Detective, starring Kali Reese and Jodi Foster. Considering how cold it was in NJ this week, this series, set in the fictional town of Ennis, Alaska, fit right into my mindset.

Favorite Lines I Read this Week: “….was raised in a loving family that placed and emphasis on education and good cheese grits.” From the NY Times obit of a woman named Sue Stubbs Cutler (4/27/39 to 1/8/24). If you’re not reading the NY Times obits in the Sunday paper, you’re missing out on wonderful personal stories.

What I Listened To This Week: Elton John’s Tumbleweed Connection

Eye See: Keeping an Eye In The Camera via Joe McNally’s blog

Speedy: Five easy speed light set-ups, via FStoppers

Seen At Night: Night scenes by Dave Jordano, via Colossal

Biting the Big Apple: Photographer Phil Penman records NY at its best…and worst, via PetaPixel

Lost and Found: New book covers, designed by Milton Glaser, are found, via The Daily Heller

Shhh!: Take 10 minutes and watch this video of 10 Historical Libraries. Then go to your local library this week.

From the JSP Archives: Back on January 20, 2011, I was writing about a legend. Catherine passed away in 2020.

The most valuable thing we can do for the psyche, occasionally, is to let it rest, wander, live in the changing light of a room, not try to be, or do, anything whatever. – writer May Sarton

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram |X | LinkTree

3 thoughts on “JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 01. 20.24

    • Ah fantastic! I haven’t read his new book yet, but Arnold’s path is pretty incredible. Remember how he was just “that muscle bound guy” back in the mid-80s? What he’s accomplished in his life is pretty wild.

  1. yep, i was one of that crowd who dismissed him as a muscle guy, and a bad actor (Conan) — but he’s smart as a whip and incredibly determined.

Leave a comment